California’s New Workplace Violence Law — Few Businesses are Ready

California is joining its West Coast neighbors Oregon and Washington and implementing a workplace violence prevention law. It goes into effect on July 1st and a lot of businesses are struggling to figure out how to make it work.

The big problem is a law that requires each business put an anti-violence plan in place that is customized for that particular business.

Here’s what the law says must be done:

  • There must be training
  • There must be record-keeping on training and other items
  • Escape routes must be planned
  • An investigation system must be in place
  • Employers must make the plan specific to its own unique risks

One of the most important points is the last one. Employers have to work with employees and industry experts to focus on risks that are unique to their businesses.

If a business doesn’t get the plan done on time, fines will happen, and they start at $18,000 per violation. The law allows them to go up to $25,000.

Source link: Business Insurance — https://bit.ly/3RJwcZg

About PIA Western Alliance

The Professional Insurance Agents Western Alliance is a membership organization promoting and enhancing the success of independent agencies seeking to grow, learn and be heard within the industry.


PIA WESTERN ALLIANCE VALUES OUR STERLING PARTNERS

More Industry News